Dice Masters FAQ 2017-03-23T16:55:11+00:00

Rev. 9/22/14

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

Update at bottom, takes into effect the Uncanny X-Men Rulebook

Rules Forum
Download PDF FAQ
A: Basic Action Cards with “Draw Dice” effects— such as Gearing Up—can be used during either the Main Step or the Attack Step after blockers are assigned and before damage is dealt. The player would declare that they are using the action, draw two dice from their bag, roll them, and place the results in their reserve pool. Since both the Main Step and Attack Step happen after the Roll and Reroll Step, dice rolled using the Gearing Up BAC cannot be rerolled.
TEST

For characters with “Draw Dice” effects— such as Gambit Ace in the Hole—
are triggered when the requirement of the card effect is met. In the case of Gambit, Ace in the Hole, this is when this character is fielded. In this example, since fielding Gambit would occur during the Main Step (which happens after the Roll and Reroll Step), dice rolled using Gambit’s effect cannot be rerolled.

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

A: “Target character must attack” effects— such as the global abilities on Mr. Fantastic, Brilliant Scientist, and Phoenix, Ms. Psyche,—

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

can be paid with their respective energy during the Main Step of your opponent’s turn to force a single target character die to attack this turn. For example, during an opponent’s Main Step, a player could use Mr. Fantastic, Brilliant Scientist’s global ability by paying one mask energy and choosing an opposing player’s active character die. That character would be forced to attack during that player’s attack step. Players can activate “target character must attack” effects during the Attack Step, but since attackers have already been assigned (during the Assign Attackers phase of the Attack Step) the opportunity for those characters to attack has already passed and the net result would be paying for an effect, choosing a target, and the effect of the Global Ability would do nothing.

A: Yes, the character’s card effect will occur. As an example, Iron Man,
Playboy’s ability to deal 3 damage to one opposing character that is attacking or blocking each time he takes damage in the Attack Step would be triggered even if the damage he takes would cause him to be KO’d.
PLEASE NOTE: On Page 17 of the rulebook, there is an error. In the last sentence of the first paragraph, it states, “This will give Thor enough damage to knock out Iron Man before he can use his card text again.” This refers to the fact that Iron Man will not be in play in future turns to continue to take advantage of his ability – he still gets to use it on the turn he is KO’ed.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
A: No, effects that KO characters (or ones that move characters to different zones) are not considered to be damage dealt to the character. As an example, Thor, Legendary Warrior’s ability to knock out characters when he deals damage to an opponent is not considered to deal damage to the character and, therefore, his ability would not activate any game effects triggered by taking damage on the character that he knocks out with this
ability.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
A: If a character has a game effect that is triggered when the character is “engaged” with another character, then that character must actively be in combat (either as attacker or blocker) with the opposing character when the game effect is supposed to occur. If that character is removed from combat before their game effect would trigger, that character’s effect will not occur. As an example, Black Widow, Natural has a card effect of, “At the end of the attack step, spin each character engaged with Black Widow down 1 level.”
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
If Black Widow, Natural, would be KO’ed due to damage taken in the Assign Damage Step (or otherwise removed from combat before the end of the Attack Step), then she is no longer actively engaged with any opposing characters so her game
effect would not occur.
A: “When fielded” effects trigger at the time that a player moves that character into their Field Zone. In most instances, this occurs when a player pays a character’s fielding cost and moves the character from their Reserve Pool to their Field Zone. As an example, Hawkeye, Longbow’s ability allows him to deal his attack value to a target opposing character when he is fielded.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

Some game effects will allow characters to be fielded in a more non-traditional fashion—such as Gambit, Le Diable Blanc.

If a character would be fielded from Gambit, Le Diable Blanc’s ability, any “when fielded” effects on those characters would activate.

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

A: “While active” effects
are static effects that are considered to be in play as long as that character is in the Field Zone (NOTE: the Attack Zone is considered a
subset of the Field Zone—so “While active” effects are still active when a character is in the Attack Zone). These effects are not cumulative— i.e. the effects only occur once regardless of how many of that character is active in a player’s Field/Attack Zone (however, NOTE: if both players have the same character active, the effects will occur once for each player). As an example, Dr. Doom, Reed Richards’ Rival, modifies the Attack and Defense of all non-villain characters while he is active. This effect would only occur
once regardless of how many Dr. Doom dice a player has active, but would occur twice if two players had a Doctor Doom, Reed Richards’ Rival, active.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
A: Characters are fielded when they are moved from the reserve pool to the field zone (by paying their fielding cost or through any special effect). An effect that occurs while the character is “active” is described as an effect that takes place when one or more of that card’s dice are in the field. See the Tournament Rules – Active and Fielded section in the rulebook on page 19. For example, Hawkeye, Longbow’s effect would activate only when you pay the character’s fielding cost and move the die from your reserve pool to the field. Doctor Doom, Reed Richards’ Rival’s effect would stay in effect as long as that character die is in your Field Zone.

For “When fielded” effects, you ask “Was the character fielded?”— If yes, the effect occurs immediately as they are fielded. This will happen simultaneously with any static effects already in the field (like Doctor Doom, Reed Richards’ Rival’s -1A and -1D). So, if a player fields Hawkeye on his Level 1 or 2 face (with 1 Defense), if there are no other defense modifiers on the field, it would play out as:

1) Hawkeye deals his attack value (which is being modified Dr. Doom by -1) to target
character.
2) Dr. Doom’s modifies Hawkeye’s Defense by -1, KO’ing Hawkeye.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
So, effectively, Hawkeye uses his effect just as he is KO’d.

A: These effects will trigger each and every time that a character die is assigned to attack/block— even if you assign multiple dice of the same character to attack/block.

As an example of a “When attacking” effect, Punisher, McRook allows a player to knock out one target opposing character when he is assigned to attack. If a player assigns multiple Punisher, McRooks to attack, this effect would trigger for each Punisher assigned to attack.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

As an example of a “When blocking” effect, Beast, Mutate #666 allows you to draw a die and place it in your prep area when he blocks. If a player has multiple Beast, Mutate #666s in their Field Zone and blocks with more than one during an attack, that player will be able to draw a die for each Beast, #666 that is assigned to block.

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

A: On Page 21 of the rulebook, under the Capturing, Controlling, and Copying section, “Once the capturing ends, place the die wherever it came from (the text on the capturing die’s card will tell you where you captured it from).” If the capturing die is somehow changed (through rerolling, etc), and is removed from the field, its ability is no longer in play, so the captured die would be returned to where you captured it from.
A: Yes, once a blocker is declared in the Assign Blocker step, the attack is still considered blocked when assigning damage. As an example, if Nightcrawler, Circus Freak, is blocked by a single character and that character is KO’d by Nightcrawler’s ability, Nightcrawler is still considered to have been blocked for the turn.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
A: Yes. In a situation where you roll Mask, 2, Sidekick, and Spider-Man Lv2 (field cost 1), you can buy a 2 cost Beast (with your Mask and 1 of your 2 generic energy) and field the Spider-Man (with the remainder of your 2 generic energy). You may take no actions in between and you may not pass priority to your opponent. The same would be true if you had rolled a 2 energy face on a die that has no 1 energy face. See page 7 of the rulebook under Purchasing a Die that reads, “For those dice (generic energy), any unused portion that is not immediately spent is lost. However, you can purchase multiple dice simultaneously to spend a generic die completely.” Also, under Field Characters on the same page, “As with purchasing dice, you can partially spend non-generic energy dice, and you can pay several fielding costs at once to fully spend a generic energy die.”

A. No, just once. For example, let’s look at the Force Beam BAC and Hulk, Jade Giant:

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

Suppose the following situation: Player A has a Force Beam Basic Action Die in their Reserve Pool on its double burst Action Face. Player B has a Hulk die in their Field Zone on its Level 3 face. Player A activates their Force Beam, which deals 1 damage to each player and 2 damage to each character. Player A and Player B will both be dealt 1 damage and all characters in both players’ Field Zones will be dealt 2 damage. As Player B will take damage and Player B’s Hulk will take damage, Hulk’s card effect of “While Hulk is active, when either you or Hulk takes damage, knock out one of your opponent’s level 1 characters” will trigger and Hulk will be able to knock out one of Player A’s level 1 characters (that were still in Field after being dealt 2 damage from the Force Beam). Hulk’s effect will only trigger once regardless of how many times the requirement for his effect is met. If any other source would then deal damage to Hulk’s controller or Hulk (like a second Force Beam were to be played), Hulk’s ability would trigger again.

A: The active player would choose which effect to apply first. Let’s take a look at Doctor Octopus, Megalomaniac with the ability, “When Doctor Octopus assigns to attack, target an opposing character. That character cannot block this turn.” and Deadpool, Chiyonosake with the ability, “When Deadpool attacks, you may assign an opposing character to block him. If he knocks out that character, he deals two damage to each opposing character.” If the attacker chooses to have Doctor Octopus, Megalomaniac activate first, the target character would not be able to block, and Deadpool, Chiyonosake would need to choose a different character for his effect (or none at all, since it is a “may” effect). If the attacker chooses to have Deadpool, Chiyonosake activate first, the target character must block the Deadpool die. Afterward, the attacker could choose to prevent that blocker from blocking with Doctor Octopus, Megalomaniac since it is a “cannot” effect.

A: The short answer is yes! It doesn’t matter if you have the same exact character (two Silver Surfer, Sky-Riders) as your opponent, or two different versions of the same character (Silverado and Sky-Rider).Marvel Dice Masters FAQ
A: No, they are simply moved from one area to another. This is true for all cards that “move” or “swap” and do not specifically state that they field characters. They do not trigger Human Torch’s ability since that only activates when characters are fielded.

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

A: Short answer: No. Damage resolves, damage replacement effects are applied, and any characters with lethal damage are KO’d and moved to the Prep Area at the same time as characters who were unblocked go to the Used Pile. After that, other effects are applied (such as Hulk, Green Goliath’s). Characters go to the Used Pile as soon as they deal damage, before any other effects take place. All other effects then take place.
Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

Uncanny X-Men Update

9/22/14

A. If you had an Iron Man, two Thor, and a Hulk in play, each of them would get +2A and +2D. Teamwork identifies that you have 3 different Avengers in play and it doesn’t matter how many copies of those dice are in play. The bonus of Teamwork occurs when played, and doesn’t change if a different number of characters are fielded after it is used.

Marvel Dice Masters FAQ

A. The short answer is: it doesn’t. Imprisoned doesn’t use the word “target.” Target implies a set number of targets, not a grouping that meets a requirement (as Imprisoned has you select).Marvel Dice Masters FAQ